top of page

Pomfret Democrats Win Big

Pomfret voters delivered a big win for local Democrats tonight. Candidate for First Selectman, Maureen Nicholson, won election to a new term with 62% of the vote. Maureen was not alone. An incredible 21 of our 22 Democratic candidates won their races in the 2017 Pomfret Municipal Elections

Joining Maureen on the Board of Selectmen will be Patrick McCarthy, a local educator who has lived in town for more than 20 years with his wife, Gail, and their three children.

Elected to the Board of Finance were Dayna Flath and Debi Thompson. Sara DiIorio, Leigh Grossman, and Valerie May won races for the Board of Education. Bev Champany and Ray Wishart were reelected to the Planning & Zoning Commission. Cris Cadiz, Christine Kalafus, and David Ring were elected to the Library Board of Trustees.

Nick Fulchino, Dan Kellaway, and Mary Wishart were all elected to the Zoning Board of Appeals. Nick and Dan will be full members while Mary is an alternate. All three candidates were under the age of 23.

For the first time, all four Democratic candidates for Constable won the election. We are very excited for Dan Bastura, Brad Belanger, Jenn Trayner, and Bill Wolfe to start serving our local community.

We could not have had such a successful election without the support of our town. After our candidates knocked hundreds, if not more than a thousand, doors in town, we are pleased that Pomfret Democrats turned out in big numbers. More than 60% of Democrats in town showed up and voted. THANK YOU. We are excited to put Pomfret Back on Track!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page